Questions & Answers

Back to Overview

What are cyber-physical systems?

 

Answer

Cyber-physical systems (CPS) are systems that are equipped with software and electronics and connected to the outside world by sensors and actuators. They are increasingly being networked with each other or with the internet. The systems use their sensors to process data from the physical (natural) world. They then make that information available to network services that can directly affect real-world processes via the CPS’s actuators. This kind of technology is blurring the dividing line between cyberspace and reality. Experts say that cyber-physical systems are creating an “Internet of Things” that will encompass both the real and the virtual world.

One type of cyber-physical system that already exists is navigation software. To help us get around better, the software uses mobile data on traffic movement to work out where tailbacks are likely to occur. Other examples of today’s CPS technology are traffic control systems of the kind used in rail networks and at airports, which actively intervene in real-life situations.

Cyber-physical systems of the future will serve a wide variety of purposes. As part of smart electricity grids, they will control our energy distribution infrastructure. They will also coordinate traffic to make road travel safer and reduce carbon emissions. New healthcare systems will link up patients and doctors, making it possible to diagnose and treat people remotely, so they do not need to leave their homes. Web-based solutions developed for industrial production will allow remote monitoring of autonomous systems.

a852432f48

Image: acatech

The German government is funding research into key aspects of cyber-physical systems through its High-Tech Strategy for Germany.

Further information is available from acatech – National Academy of Science and Engineering, in the brochure entitled Cyber-Physical Systems – Driving force for innovation in mobility, health, energy and production (in German only).

Fragen & Antworten

Zurück zur Übersicht

Was sind Cyber-Physische Systeme?

 

Antwort

Cyber-Physische Systeme (CPS) sind Systeme mit eingebetteter Software und Elektronik, die über Sensoren und sogenannte Aktoren (Antriebselemente) mit der Außenwelt verbunden sind. Zunehmend werden sie untereinander und in das Internet vernetzt. Mithilfe der Sensoren verarbeiten diese Systeme Daten aus der physikalischen (der natürlichen) Welt und machen sie für netzbasierte Dienste verfügbar, die durch Aktoren direkt auf Vorgänge in der physikalischen Welt einwirken können. Die physikalische Welt verschmilzt also mit der virtuellen – dem Cyberspace. Man sagt auch, dass die physikalische Welt durch CPS mit der virtuellen Welt zu einem „Internet der Dinge“ wird.

Erste Ansätze zu CPS gibt es bereits heute – etwa in Form von Navigationssoftware. Zur verbesserten Routenführung leitet sie mithilfe von Mobilfunkdaten Stauinformationen aus aktuellen Bewegungsprofilen ab. Weitere Beispiele sind Verkehrssteurungssysteme aus dem Bereich des Zug- oder Flugverkehrs. Hier greifen die Systeme aktiv steuernd ein.

Zukünftige CPS werden in den verschiedensten Anwendungsfeldern zum Einsatz kommen. Als Teil eines intelligenten Stromnetzes werden CPS das künftige Energienetz steuern. Sie werden durch Koordination den Verkehr sicherer machen und den Kohlenstoffdioxid-Ausstoß reduzieren. Moderne Gesundheits-Systeme werden Patienten und Ärzte vernetzen, Ferndiagnosen und die medizinische Versorgung zu Hause ermöglichen. In der industriellen Produktion werden internetbasierte Systeme entstehen, mit denen die Fernüberwachung selbstständig arbeitender Produktionssyteme möglich ist.

a852432f48

Bild: acatech

Die Bundesregierung fördert die Erforschung wesentlicher Aspekte von Cyber-Physical Systems im Rahmen der Hightech-Strategie 2020.
Weitere Informationen zu dem Thema finden Sie in der Broschüre „Cyber Physical Systems – Innovationsmotor für Mobilität, Gesundheit, Energie und Produktion“ der acatech – Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften.